Blog Tour: The Meeting Point by Olivia Lara

Happy Saturday Everyone! Today its my turn on The Write Reads Ultimate Blog Tour for The Meeting Point by Olivia Lara. Thank you to The Write Reads, the author and the publisher, Aria Fiction, for my copy.

The Book:

What if the Lift driver who finds your cheating boyfriend’s phone holds the directions to true love?

‘Who are you and why do you have my boyfriend’s phone?’

‘He left it in my car. You must be the blonde in the red dress? I’m the Lift driver who dropped you two off earlier.’

And with these words, the life of the brunette and t-shirt wearing Maya Maas is turned upside down. Having planned to surprise her boyfriend, she finds herself single and stranded in an unknown city on her birthday.

So when the mystery driver rescues Maya with the suggestion that she cheers herself up at a nearby beach town, she jumps at the chance to get things back on track. She wasn’t expecting a personalised itinerary or the easy companionship that comes from opening up to a stranger via text, let alone the possibility it might grow into something more…

Come on this 5* journey to love, laughter and back again, perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Josie Silver and Sally Thorne.

The Author:

As a child, Olivia not-so-quietly ‘observed’ (AKA bothered with countless questions) her grandfather — who worked for the biggest publishing house in Romania — edit hundreds of books. And when he wasn’t editing, he read. Everything, all the time. Just like her father, who wrote short sci-fi stories, and was set on building the largest library she’d ever seen and her mother who’s never found without a book…wherever she goes. Her love for words came naturally, and after studying marketing, communications & photography, Olivia worked as a journalist for a newspaper and news television network in Romania.

An unapologetic citizen of the world, she spent a few years in Greece, Sweden, France, before settling in sunny California with her photographer husband and young daughter, where she works in marketing and writes. Oh, and let’s not forget the ever-growing menagerie that completes the family: Pumpkin, the Maine Coon mix, three black cats and a siamese kitten.

When she’s not writing or thinking about writing, she reads (across genres), watches old movies and collects vintage books, vinyl records, and eerie paintings. She loves traveling (and can’t wait until she can do it again, safely), swimming, biking, hiking and of course, photography.

SOMEDAY IN PARIS, her debut, published by Aria Fiction/Head of Zeus in May 2020 became a B&N, Apple, Kobo and Amazon Top 100 Bestseller and was shortlisted for the Romantic Novel Awards 2021. Her second novel, THE MEETING POINT, a contemporary romcom set in Northern California, is set to be published as an e-book on September 2, 2021 and in paperback in December 2021 in the UK and March, 2022 in the US.

The Review:

I’ve read quite a few romance novels in the last couple of years. I like to mix my genres up a bit and I’ve read some great romance books….and some not so great ones. I’m pleased to say that this was a really great one!

I don’t think the blurb quite does the book justice. After reading it, I was expecting to have the whole book be about this day where the main character is guided by the mystery Lift driver. But really, that’s just the start of the book and honestly, I think it gets better after that.

We see Maya really question her life choices in the time following the encounter with the mystery man. She realises that there are a lot of things she’s not happy about and so makes some serious changes, including trying to find out just who that guy was.

The setting of this book, Carmel-by-the-Sea in Monterey, California, was really well described and just a great place to have this story unfold. I could picture it really well in my head despite never having been there or knowing anything about it.

I really liked the characters too; Maya was a sympathetic and likeable character whose growth was rewarding, Ethan was interesting too and I liked how he turned out to be totally different to what Maya expected. The supporting cast of characters in Carmel, particularly Celine, were wonderful too.

The plot was fairly predictable; maybe its because of the amount of romance books I’ve read recently but I could see what was going to happen pretty far off. It didn’t diminish my enjoyment of watching the events unfold though…..its all about the journey and not the destination!

And if there’s ever an endorsement of a book, I think its these two things.

Firstly, I couldn’t put this down. I read about 1/3 one day, and 2/3 the next (part of it whilst I was supposed to be working, sssshhhh!).

Secondly, I finished this and immediately added the author’s first book to my Goodreads TBR. This book was just what I needed at the minute. I’ve just been so swamped with life stuff recently and felt a bit bogged down, and the escapism and enjoyment that this book had to offer were just the ticket. Its good to know that I’ve got another book by the author in the back pocket for another day.

A solid 4 stars from me. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Meeting Point by Olivia Lara

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s